Collegiate Divisions

In 1965, the faculty created five collegiate divisions to oversee the academic programs and the general education course offerings. These collegiate divisions work with the Dean of the College to maintain the balance between a demand for specialization and the need to provide a strong academic foundation for our students. The five collegiate divisions are the Biological Sciences Collegiate Division, the Humanities Collegiate Division, the New Collegiate Division, the Physical Sciences Collegiate Division, and the Social Sciences Collegiate Division. All but the New Collegiate Division are affiliated with a graduate division of the University. Depending on which major or majors you choose, you’ll find yourself affiliated with one of these divisions.